Vanilla Forums has been nominated for a second time in the CMS Critic "Critic's Choice" awards, and we need your vote! Read more here, and then do the thing (please).
Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.
Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!

both shift keys aren't working on my keyboard

BartholamueBartholamue Registered User regular
Yeah, it seems on my Logitech Elite keyboard which I've had for a long time, both of my shift keys just suddenly stopped working. I can use CAPS LOCK just fine, but the shift keys just aren't responsive at all. Is this a sign that I need a new keyboard.../ 'insert question mark here'

It's weird, they were working yesterday when I was playing modern warfare 2..

Bartholamue on
Steam- SteveBartz Xbox Live- SteveBartz PSN Name- SteveBartz

Posts

  • CherrnCherrn Registered User regular
    edited November 2009
    I just had a similar problem. Likely it has something to do with Sticky Keys. Try fiddling with the settings in Ease of Access. If that fails, reboot in safe mode, remove your keyboard drivers, and it'll reinstall them automatically.

    All creature will die and all the things will be broken. That's the law of samurai.
  • BartholamueBartholamue Registered User regular
    edited November 2009
    If it helps, I tried this keyboard out with my dual boot, and both in XP and 7, it did the same thing. No shift keys :?.

    Steam- SteveBartz Xbox Live- SteveBartz PSN Name- SteveBartz
  • BartholamueBartholamue Registered User regular
    edited November 2009
    Well it seems like I managed to find a workaround by using the on-screen keyboard that's in WIN7. I tried this keyboard out on my Wii, but my shift keys weren't working there, either. So, does that mean it's new keyboard time? I've had this keyboard for around 5 years, but it's probably the best one I've ever used, so I'm inpartial of getting rid of it, but I've been looking around for some.

    Steam- SteveBartz Xbox Live- SteveBartz PSN Name- SteveBartz
  • ImprovoloneImprovolone Registered User regular
    edited November 2009
    Have you popped off the keys and cleaned them?

    Voice actor for hire. My time is free if your project is!
  • BartholamueBartholamue Registered User regular
    edited November 2009
    Yup. I'm going to see what's going on with it when I open it up.

    Steam- SteveBartz Xbox Live- SteveBartz PSN Name- SteveBartz
  • khainkhain Registered User regular
    edited November 2009
    You can rebind keys using AutoHotKey or some other program if you want to keep the keyboard.

  • SenshiSenshi Registered User
    edited November 2009
    Or you could buy a new keyboard of the same model.

    >Signatures
    >2012
    ISHYGDDT
Sign In or Register to comment.