As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

PC Softsynths and Studios for Spendthrift Amateurs

HadjiQuestHadjiQuest Registered User regular
edited December 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
I'm a poor college student with a lot of free time and few friends. Recently, I've been interested in getting some sort of softsynth or full blown music suite to play around with and use to learn more about composition. There seem to be a lot of options, but most of them seem incredibly expensive and geared towards professionals.

For $200 or less (preferably $150 or less), I'm wondering if there's a specific program or suite that someone could recommend? I played with Jeskola Buzz for a little bit and liked it, although it was somewhat needlessly complicated and crashed often.

A dynamic soft-synth is the thing I'm most interested in, but if possible I'd also like to be able to plug a guitar or bass in as well to process and record. Anything that came bundled with lots of tutorials and lessons would be appreciated as well.

So, can anyone help?

Edit: I've been reading a little more into it, and know that I'll need a sequencer now as a base, and I will want one that has input recording from instruments.

HadjiQuest on

• RaernRaern Registered User regular
    edited December 2009
    http://www.reaper.fm
    Cheap for a home user, and it's uncrippled shareware so you can try everything before buying.

Raern on
  • HadjiQuestHadjiQuest Registered User regular
    edited December 2009
    I am going to bump this just one time to try and get some further opinions hopefully as people get off of work and come home for the day.

HadjiQuest on
  • Count FunkulaCount Funkula Registered User regular
    edited December 2009