As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

High-Interest Checking Accounts?

TehSlothTehSloth Hit Or MissI Guess They Never Miss, HuhRegistered User regular
edited December 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
Hey, a colleague at work recently told me about "High-Interest Checking Accounts", a concept which seems absolutely ridiculous to me, but awesome nonetheless. I'm currently a 21-year-old student, so I don't feel like I have the money to be looking into any more serious savings systems right now, but I've got a pretty good part-time job/internship right now, and I don't know why I wouldn't want my money to be working for me. The requirements seem pretty reasonable, basically just use their card frequently (I don't have any credit cards, and almost never carry cash so that won't be a problem), make a direct deposit monthly which also isn't a problem, and go paperless which I prefer anyway. I'm sure some people would dislike the whole ATM fee refund business, but I don't think I've used an ATM other than to make deposits for quite some time.

A couple I've looked at include Coulee Bank and Florida Central. Until now, I've only ever had checking and savings with your standard mega-chain banks like Bank of America and currently Suntrust. Nothing against them really, these just seem like much better deals, and I was wondering if anybody has ever had any experience with these types of things, since I'm definitely worried about these. Can I trust them with my money? Is there some secret way they're planning on ripping me off like hidden-fees? Is it just some creepy guy in his mom's basement with a web-site that decided he wanted people to send him money so he can roll around in it, and then mysteriously disappear with my paychecks?

FC: 1993-7778-8872 PSN: TehSloth Xbox: SlothTeh