As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Windows 7 and Old Games

AgentofOrangeAgentofOrange Registered User regular
I'm new to G&T, and I have a small problem that I'd like to find some advice on with regards to technology. Do forgive me if this topic is ill placed.

My favorite game of all time, Baldur's Gate II, doesn't seem to want to work properly on my computer after I've installed a legal copy of Windows 7. I've tried various compatibility modes, but I still get strange errors within the game. These errors include graphics issues, mostly blocky shadowing and detail, sometimes strange colors. But I also get strange issues with the program, like when I try to access the "multiplayer" menu the game crashes entirely. I can't find any legitimate patches or upgrades that address the issue.

This seems to be a problem with a few of my older games, and I'm getting pretty frustrated about it because I love playing my old games. Is there something that can be recommended that I do?

AgentofOrange on

• Options
    StormwatcherStormwatcher Blegh BlughRegistered User regular
    edited February 2010
    BG2 can work on Win7, and installing the unofficial patches and the Widescreen mod usually help deal with those issues. I don't have the links here, but it's easy to find those at google.

It would help us help you if you described how exactly it's not working. Your computer specs would also be great.

Try turning off Catalyst AI if you have a Radeon... And check the BG2 config app, what graphical options did you turn on or off?

Stormwatcher on
    Steam: Stormwatcher | PSN: Stormwatcher33 | Switch: 5961-4777-3491
    camo_sig2.png
  • Options
    edited February 2010