As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Wife wants to start a new business. Any tips?

SipexSipex Registered User regular
edited April 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
My wife believes she has found her calling in life, she wants to start her own business. Specifically, she wants to start a hobby shop (ie: D&D, warhammer, boardgames, etc).

Now, she's not being stupid, she hasn't pinned all her hopes on this and she doesn't believe she'll be starting up immediately.

She's currently looking into business courses at the local community college to learn...whatever there is to learn (economics and whatnot).

I'm not a business man, I work in IT and I don't plan on being a business man so the most I can offer is some labour hours and my knowhow on the hobbies. I know she shouldn't expect to be profitable before 2 years.

We also need to build up our credit beforehand so this isn't a 'must implement nownownownow' but more of 'Let's research and get the facts straight, see what's possible, where we can go from here'

Will the business course be beneficial? We're thinking, along with what they teach her the diploma will also raise her chances for a business loan.

Any other tips?

Sipex on

• Options
    bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    edited March 2010
    Business courses are always a plus.

Focusing on the accounting aspect of it, keeping track of your money is probably the best way to keep and run a successful business. Advertising is pretty important too.

bowen on
    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
  • Options
    ShogunShogun Hair long; money long; me and broke wizards we don't get along Registered User regular
    edited March 2010