As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Meringues suck.

LemmingHeadLemmingHead Registered User regular
edited March 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
Hey H/A.

I have attempted to make a meringue twice. Each time, my meringues have:

a) not peaked
b) not cooked properly
and c) been absolutely nasty.

I'm a very amateur baker, and I would like to know how the heck to make these things. I have surfed the internet but it hasn't helped. :x

Thanks!

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] hugs!
LemmingHead on

• Options
    ComahawkComahawk Registered User regular
    edited March 2010
    They are pretty straight forward... What type of Meringue are you making and what for?

If it is the normal (French?) meringue, just make sure you are not getting ANY yolk in there, or it will not work.

Comahawk on
  • Options
    UsagiUsagi Nah Registered User regular
    edited March 2010
    Having super fresh eggs and the whites at room temperature helps, also I pity da foo' who whisks by hand (seriously, at least a hand mixer)

Usagi on
  • Options
    edited March 2010
    Comahawk wrote: »
    They are pretty straight forward... What type of Meringue are you making and what for?

If it is the normal (French?) meringue, just make sure you are not getting ANY yolk in there, or it will not work.
    I'm making meringue for the top of a pie. It didn't go well.

Are the rules different for different meringues? What other meringues are there?

LemmingHead on
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] hugs!
  • Options
    nevilleneville The Worst Gay (Seriously. The Worst!)Registered User regular
    edited March 2010
    Usagi wrote: »
    Having super fresh eggs and the whites at room temperature helps, also I pity da foo' who whisks by hand (seriously, at least a hand mixer)

This.

neville on
    nevillexmassig1.png
  • Options