As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

guitar playing tips needed for band practice

DarkSymphonyDarkSymphony Registered User regular
edited April 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
ok so I've been playing guitar for a few years, I'm pretty good but not amazing or anything. However, I'm getting back into band practice for the first time in a couple years and we're going the pop-punk style. It's fun and pretty easy, but I'm looking to spice up the current workings of the songs they had written previously. Basically this is what we have:

chord progressions for a whole song, but I'm looking to see how I could lay over some single note picking ontop of the chords we have. Like, a good example of what I'm talking about can be found in this song:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XpuDUTPJZL0

It's a coheed song. At the 1:11 mark, you hear them playing a line of chords with a riff being played over it and it, well, working quite well. I understand that the riff you play has to be in the same key and generally the same scale you're using, but I want to make it really effective, much like in this song. It's something you end up remembering and kinda stays with you.

If anyone has a good idea of what I'm talking about, I'd love to hear some suggestions. I'm just looking for basic rules to follow for writing stuff like that. Like, for X chord progression you can use X notes within the same scale. If that makes any sense. I dunno if I'm explaining it right.

Anyways, thanks for reading regardless.

DarkSymphony on

• Options
    stahstah Registered User regular
    edited April 2010
    I'm not a player, so take my advice with a grain of salt.