As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Beginner looking for a Digital Piano/Synth

NogsNogs Crap, crap, mega crap.Crap, crap, mega crap.Registered User regular
edited May 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
For about 5 years now I have been wanting to learn/play the piano. I've always held off because I was in school, then I was a broke freelancer. But over the past few months I have specifically been saving up money for this.

I know there are some musicians here on the boards and I would like your opinions on Digital pianos and/or Synths.

The type of music I plan to play mostly is probably pop. Things like Ben Folds, Matt & Kim, Regina Spektor, etc. (though i enjoy classical music also, and will probably learn a couple classical songs)

I am budgeting around $300-400 for this, though if there is a certain brand/model everyone seems to agree upon, I am willing to go a little higher, but no further than $600, because that will literally break my bank.

I am also going to take classes, in case you are wondering.

So, in that price range, for a beginner, what keyboard do you guys suggest I get?

Should I worry about 88-keys or is that a probably best to wait until i am a more developed player?

Does a really good Digital piano with high quality Grand samples tend to be more useful than crazy Synths with thousands of variations?

rotate.jpg
PARKER, YOU'RE FIRED! <-- My comic book podcast! Satan look here!
Nogs on

• Options
    SideAffectsSideAffects Registered User regular
    edited May 2010
    I would definitely get an 88-key piano. Make sure it has weighted keys and has a sustain pedal. Everything else is just icing :)

SideAffects on
  • Options
    ShogunShogun Hair long; money long; me and broke wizards we don't get along Registered User regular
    edited May 2010