As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Control-Command-D = MIND BLOWN! (or I was a teenage Mac noob)

langfor6langfor6 Registered User regular
A little background information: I bought my first Mac computer last August, taking advantage of one of their back-to-school specials by buying a MacBook Pro.

I started a new job for the summer, and we have several staunch Mac users at my job, people that have been using them for much longer than me. The other day a coworker showed me the instant dictionary functionality referenced in the thread title, and I thought it was one of the coolest little built-in features that I've ever seen.

I realized that there are probably several more features in OS X that I'm not aware of, hence this thread. I'd like to gather the collective wisdom of the Mac users on this forum so I can find out other cool things. Please keep this restricted to OS X if you will, and to shortcuts, tips, and tricks of this nature as well.

langfor6 on

• Options
    ReddfawksReddfawks Registered User regular
    edited May 2010
    Well, I find it's easier to screencap stuff on a Mac.

Shift+cmnd+4 brings up a cursor. Click and drag it over the area, and presto! You've saved the selection into a PNG!

Sure beats Print Screen pasting.

Reddfawks on
    Current Badge Designs count = 311. Current sanity level = -311
  • Options
    LoneIgadzraLoneIgadzra Registered User regular
    edited May 2010
    Shift+Command+3 captures the whole screen as well.