As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

How does one pick a grad school?

ToldoToldo But actually,WeegianRegistered User regular
edited June 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
Greetings,

I'm an international student about to start my senior year in college, and I've just started looking at grad school--but to be completely honest, I have no idea where to begin. I received a scholarship to come to the US, and was subsequently placed at a school, so I never had to pick my own college. I'm looking at going to grad school for journalism, and I could desperately use some financial aid...

Anyway, where do you get an overview of grad schools?

Toldo on

• Options
    MegaMan001MegaMan001 CRNA Rochester, MNRegistered User regular
    edited June 2010
    What is your area of study? Do you intend to continue graduate school into a doctoral program and focus on research or practice or what?

If you intend to do research or continue study within your particular academic field then it would be in your interest to do some research on the various faculty at schools and find someone who's researching something you want to contribute in.

Of course, if you're moving across the world for school, are there any schools available near family for support?

MegaMan001 on
    I am in the business of saving lives.
  • Options
    shadydentistshadydentist Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    I chose my grad schools by researching what schools had good programs in the subject that I was interested in. I can't really help you out with financial aid advice, though, since science and engineering programs do things differently.

shadydentist on
    Steam & GT
    steam_sig.png
    GT: Tanky the Tank
    Black: 1377 6749 7425
  • Options