As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Website design

bloodyroarxxbloodyroarxx Casa GrandeRegistered User regular
edited June 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
My girlfriend is trying to update her website she knows HTML but nothing about current website design. Where should she start, what does she need to know such as programming languages and programs to help design it with.

bloodyroarxx on

• Options
    admanbadmanb unionize your workplace Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    edited June 2010
    What's she trying to get out of it?

admanb on
  • Options
    bloodyroarxxbloodyroarxx Casa GrandeRegistered User regular
    edited June 2010
    admanb wrote: »
    What's she trying to get out of it?

Well she is an artist by trade, but she wants something more now as opposed to early pre-2005 basic html layouts

This is her current website she wants to be out of the simple table style it is now.

Nothing fancy like Flash or anything but she seems to need a primer on CSS she says and doesn't know where to start,

bloodyroarxx on
  • Options
    DrFrylockDrFrylock Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Depends, what does she want to use the Website for?

I used to do my Website by hand in HTML, then HTML+CSS, then XHTML+CSS. But then the world changed, and now it's much easier/more flexible to use a very simple content management system. WordPress fit the bill nicely. I found a template online with a very flexible license that I liked to use as a starting point, and then I used my mad CSS sk1llz to modify it.