As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Preparing for the GRE psychology subject test

MelksterMelkster Registered User regular
edited July 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
Background: I've decided to pursue a Ph.D. program in psychology, with the goal of doing research for the foreseeable future.

It's been a couple years since I graduated with a minor in psychology. I know I've forgotten a decent amount of stuff and will need to re-learn quite a bit.

Also, considering I've only got a minor in psychology, I'd like to score in the 99th percentile in order to get into the schools I want to get into. Performing well is very important.

I'd like some recommendations on the best resources for preparing for the exam. Should I go for the Kaplan or the Princeton Review book, or are they both worthless? Since graduating, I've sold my Introduction to Psychology textbook, so I'll probably need to pick up a new one - any recommendations on what Psych textbook to get? Anything else that past test-takers can recommend?

I have two and a half months to study for this, by the way.

Melkster on

• Options
    Liquid HellzLiquid Hellz Registered User regular
    edited July 2010
    You may want to look into your schools a bit further. It is unlikely they will accept you with just a good score on the GRE. Your probably going to need 3 strong letters of recommendation and good scores on all your senior level psych classes. Also might need to have done some research in the past. This is because graduate schools (the good ones) get to pick and choose their students. So they pick the ones that will fit best, people who have a stronger chance of graduating and once they do graduate they actually use their degree in a worthwhile way. That is unless you already have a masters?