As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Should i put Vista or XP on my Mac? + other win questions from a macman

The_Glad_HatterThe_Glad_Hatter One Sly FoxUnderneath a Groovy HatRegistered User regular
edited September 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
okay, i have a new imac waiting for me at the store at this moment. excited, finally having an intel chip so i can install Windows and debug my sites for IE properly.

it's a maxed out 27" imac i7, quad 2,95 ghz, hyperthreading, 4GB ram, 2TB HD.

Now, my questions are:
1) What version of windows should i install? i have a lot of (old) experience with xp. But i also have an unused vista licence disk (school promo offer). i've heard so many bad things about vista. Is it that bad? Haven't they patched things out by now?
i don't mind using XP, but i wondering about support/ updates/ long term stuff (don't wanna reinstall in a year...)

2) How big should a descent windows partition be? i'll be using it for site debugging (html, css and light java).
i suspect that if i do any gaming, the mac steam stuff will be enough. Can i adjust this partition size lateron? Do i need to format the entire thing to install the windows partition?
Will i be able to communicate between my mac partition and my win partition ie. getting files from one to the next? View its folders? Have a kind of dropbox/shared folder?

3) anyone know a good light css/ html editor for windows? I use Coda on my ibook and would love: a nice WYSIWYG preview mode, splitscreen modes, and instant validation. tooltips would be nice since i've only just quit dreamweaver and still need some training wheels.

i'm currently using my ibook G4 and have been a bit out of the loop with the latest whistles and bells. Anything else i should know about mac+win?

The_Glad_Hatter on