As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Cell Phone + Plan for Cruise Ship long-term

KhavallKhavall British ColumbiaRegistered User regular
Ok, so long story short:

I'm a professional musician, and I'm currently working Cruise ships. My current contract ends November 3, but I'll be taking another one after that, and probably I'll be doing it for a while. Most of it is pretty excellent, but there is the one problem of internet, which even with the crew discount on internet, it's still relatively expensive to use(460 minute card for $40). Since I still like to stay connected and be able to check my email and all that, I'd kind of prefer to be a little more constantly connected. When in port, if I don't have IPM(A requirement that there has to be a minimum number of crew members on board, and so the musicians rotate), I can normally hit up a coffee shop or somewhere that has free wifi and use that in large batches, but while on the sea(which is normally 2-3 days a week, but on this contract there's one week where we have sea days 6 days in one week), there's no coffee shop down the street. However, I do get cell phone service almost everywhere, save my cabin, and I've even seen some people getting service in their cabin. The obvious solution then is to just make the move to a smartphone with tethering and oh hey I have unlimited internet without having to buy the cards and budget my internet time like crazy. The problem there is that, say, even when I'm doing an Alaskan cruise, which I'm doing now, there's a lot of time that's spent as roaming.