Options

Used DSLRs

NatheoNatheo Registered User regular
I need some help.

So I'm pretty sure I want to get a DSLR, but I'm not ready to drop a bunch of money on one just yet. As a background, photography is something I want to get more involved in, and I am to some extent with my little canon powershot sx200. I'm a writer for a campus newspaper right now, but I'm looking to get more involved with the photography end of things as well. So I want to get started with a DSLR. After googling around, I started to consider buying a used DSLR. I looked around on some various sites, but by my reckoning the consensus seems to point to KEH.com as the best spot to pick up some used gear.

I'm basically looking at canon and nikon, but I'm pretty sure I could be talked into pentax at this point as well. I haven't messed with a pentax, but while the nikon feels more solid in my hands, I like where the scroll wheel is placed on the canons.

So, lenses. Particularly kit lenses. Good enough to get started with? For example, if I buy

http://www.keh.com/camera/Canon-Digital-Camera-Outfits/1/sku-DC019990996190?r=FE

how far will it take me?

Just looking for some input on buying used DSLRs, getting started with slr photography, what sort of accessories I really need, etc.

edit: as far as what I'll be photographing, portraits are pretty much out. People doing things, indoors and out, landscape stuff, and probably animals when I go up north.
Thanks guys.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Natheo on

• Options
    nexuscrawlernexuscrawler Registered User regular
    edited October 2010
    I have that exact camera. Yes it's a little older but it takes excellent photos and has great manual and auto modes. I'd definitely recommend it as a starter SLR

nexuscrawler on
  • Options
    ZiggymonZiggymon Registered User regular
    edited October 2010