Options

Sculpture - From CAD to Finished Project

hamburger helperhamburger helper Registered User regular
edited November 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
Hey All,

I want to use CAD to design and create blueprints for a sculpture. Basically, I have zero knowledge of cad programs, but I'm highly fluent in adobe photoshop, illustrator, etc. and have a background in 3d software like Maya. That being said, I'm not really a stranger to obtuse interfaces and can pick up software fairly quickly.

What I'm looking for is the following:

Recommendation of a software package (preferably Mac OS X - friendly) that will allow me the freedom to design sculptures up to 8ft^3 in size and be able to export the design into a blueprint. The blueprint will show the materials I need to create the sculpture using either wood or metal.

Are there places where I can take these blueprints? Will hardware stores cut wood from blueprints? etc?

Forgive my ignorance, I realize the scope of my question may be rather large, so I appreciate any insight. You guys have always been the first step in my creative processes :) Thank-you.

statimg.php?id=280&theme=1
hamburger helper on

• Options
    NotYouNotYou Registered User regular
    edited November 2010
    You're not going to get custom cuts done at a hardware store. Especially not precise ones.

If you can't cut the wood yourself, you probably need to hire someone to do the work for you.

edit: this is my experience. Even when I wanted a bunch of planks cut to 12 inches or whatever, they were all off by a good bit. Maybe you know a good store where they don't suck.

NotYou on
  • Options
    ZeonZeon Registered User regular
    edited November 2010
    NotYou wrote: »
    You're not going to get custom cuts done at a hardware store. Especially not precise ones.

If you can't cut the wood yourself, you probably need to hire someone to do the work for you.