As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

How to keep chocolate from melting

AlyceInWonderlandAlyceInWonderland Registered User regular
edited December 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
So, I have a dilemma. I'm traveling down to Texas this Christmas to stay with my boyfriend's family, and being an incredibly poor student, I'm making everything they're getting for Christmas. However, a lot of the things I'm making for them are chocolate covered (mmm...).

How in the world would I keep them from melting into a mound of chocolaty goop?
I know, I know "Keep them cold, you dumbass!", you're saying, BUT...that's kind of hard to do when they're in a suitcase inside of a plane on their way to Texas with me.

Does anyone have any ideas on how I can keep things insulated inside the bag to keep the temperature down, do I even have to really worry? Am I even allowed to bring foodstuffs like that onto a plane even if it's not in a carry-on?

Your help would be appreciated!

(Is a gift basket of completely home made stuff even a good gift? I hate not having money :( )

AlyceInWonderland on

• Options
    VisionOfClarityVisionOfClarity Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Mail them. It will be way easier that way. Pack them into something airtight with a piece of bread and send them priority mail.

VisionOfClarity on
  • Options
    AlyceInWonderlandAlyceInWonderland Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    That sounds like a great idea. We're leaving NY and getting to Texas on the 23rd. If I ship it out on Monday, do you think it'd get there by the 23rd? I've been so busy for the past month, that I was hoping to finish everything this weekend.