As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Medical coding and billing? (Career transition)

LankyseanLankysean Registered User regular
edited March 2011 in Help / Advice Forum
Can someone explain what exactly medical billing and coding is? I currently work as a salesmen selling phones for a wireless company. I do ok in terms a salary but it's a frustrating job and I've really grown to hate dealing with the general public. Before I got this job I used to do date entry which I assume is similar in nature to Medical Billing/coding. I used to actually enjoy my data entry job because it afforded me a lot of time to listen to audio books and such, plus it was a low pressure job which was always nice. So anyways, I'm thinking about getting out of sales and into medical billing and coding, and I was wondering if anyone here had any advice as far as training/certification needed, and which I might be able to obtain those things in New Jersey.

Thanks!

Lankysean on

• Options
    FantasmaFantasma Registered User regular
    edited March 2011
    As far as I know this task is normally done by a clerk, secretary, Accounts Receivable assistan and such, there is a lot of paperwork and, communication exchange and phone calls involved.

This could give you some information:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Medical_billing_(United_States)

Fantasma on
    Hear my warnings, unbelievers. We have raised altars in this land so that we may sacrifice you to our gods. There is no hope in opposing the inevitable. Put down your arms, unbelievers, and bow before the forces of Chaos!
  • Options
    lordrellordrel Registered User regular