Options

The War: Me vs EA Customer Support (DA2, DS2)

Gideon ZhiGideon Zhi Registered User regular
edited April 2011 in Games and Technology
I'm coming here in hopes that *someone* can help me. Maybe someone knows someone on the inside, and can get my issue looked at properly by someone with enough brains not to keep reading off of a support script.

I buy games. I buy lots of games. I occasionally play games online, but I have been unable to play Dead Space 2 online. Ever. This is because I own the XBox 360 version, and while I have a Live Gold subscription, any time I try to connect to Dead Space 2's multiplayer I get a message saying "Cannot connect to EA Servers. Please try again." The message appears pretty much instantly after each connection attempt. But I'd heard that Dead Space 2's multiplayer was kind of bad anyway, so I wasn't too worried.

One month later, Dragon Age 2's demo hits Live, and I'm still having the Dead Space 2 issue. So I download Dragon Age 2, thinking nothing of it, but uh oh, whenever I try to connect I get a very similar error message - "Cannot connect to Dragon Age servers. Please try again." It should be noted at this point that I have no problems playing any *other* games online - just Dead Space 2 and, currently, the Dragon Age 2 demo.

So I open a support ticket with EA on February 25th. They walk me through the usual connection-diagnosis stuff, and of course, nothing works. They escalate the ticket to Tier 2, then walk me through the *same* connection-diagnosis stuff. Again, nothing works. Up to Tier 3. They look into it, and eventually come to the conclusion that "it's a problem with [my] gamertag, talk to Microsoft." Then they close the ticket. Which is dumb, because my gamertag is fine - I can connect to any other game without issue. So I call, talk to someone live, get the ticket reopened, and recommence what has now been a six-week-long exercise in frustration.