As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Quick bass help

YosemiteSamYosemiteSam Registered User regular
edited February 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
I've been playing playing electric bass for about five months, and I'm going to be playing in a show next Thursday. We're playing "Heart of Glass" by Blondie and I'd really like to incorporate disco elements into my bass playing. Primarily I want to know how you play two sixteenth notes in a row on the upbeat on a song of that tempo (off the top of my head, this rhythm is in the bass part of "Right on Time" by the Red Hot Chili Peppers, in the chorus). I tried just using my index and middle finger, like I normally do, but it was really hard to play that fast. Should I just keep practicing that or is there a better way to play that rhythm? I tried using a pick, but it sounded too staccato.

If possible, I'd also like to be able to slap. I can get an okay slap sound out of an open string, but I can barely get anything out of the string when its fretted. Granted, I'm lucky that the song is in E so I could just slap the E string, but I'm pretty certain I'm doing it wrong. Are there any good online instructions or videos anyone knows of so I can learn how to slap? Specifically I want to do slap and pop, but I'm pretty much satisfied with my popping technique as it is (although I'm not certain I know how to pop right after a slap). Thanks.

YosemiteSam on

• wmelonwmelon Registered User regular
    edited February 2007