As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Personal VPN Stand-UP

texasheattexasheat Registered User regular
Ok, so i want to stand up a VPN for me and my friends. I have quite a bit of technology training from the US military and my contracting job. But i've never done this before. So I thought i'd hit up the experts. Here's the situation:

I want to host the VPN server, and have everyone connect to me. I need a program to do this, the only one i have any experience with is Cisco VPN, but i'm not buying that. I'm hoping to find a good free one, but don't really know where to start, any suggestions?

I will then need to configure the routers on all points for the connection. As i understand it, most routers don't allow VPN traffic, so i'll need to crack open some ports, I guess for this i'm really just hoping for a guide of some sort.

After that i should be good. My whole plan is to stand up a Minecraft server. But i want to get the connections established first before i try that next step. The VPN is where i need help, there plenty of guides on the Minecraft Forum for setup, but i need help with the connetion stuff.

Also, will i need to let my ISP know anything? For ex, i'm going through COX, will i need to tell them my router will be used for server?

Thanks in advance

texasheat on

• Options
    bigwahbigwah Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    Most ISPs dont let you use VPN/Server stuff on consumer grade connections, requiring you to upgrade to business class. If they do, good for you, otherwise you'll need to upgrade.

Do you really need a VPN for a minecraft server? Seems a bit overkill, but I'm not a big minecraft guy.

bigwah on
    LoL Tribunal: