As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Taking Out a Loan to Pay a Loan; Bad Idea?

Hexmage-PAHexmage-PA Registered User regular
edited July 2011 in Help / Advice Forum
I graduated from college several months ago and have student loans I'll need to pay back. My uncle's girlfriend works for a credit union, and she suggested to my parents recently a plan of action to reduce the amount of interest I'll have to pay.

If I understand correctly, the idea is to take out a loan that's interest rate is lower than the interest rate of my student loan to pay-off the student loan, reducing the amount of money I'll have to pay-out in the long run.

Is this advisable? It seems like a good idea on the surface, but I wouldn't be surprised if something like this could backfire.

Hexmage-PA on

• Options
    DeebaserDeebaser on my way to work in a suit and a tie Ahhhh...come on fucking guyRegistered User regular
    edited July 2011
    It isn't very likely you'll be able to get an unsecured personal loan that would cover your student loan at a lower rate and for the same term.

Deebaser on
  • Options
    ceresceres When the last moon is cast over the last star of morning And the future has past without even a last desperate warningRegistered User, Moderator mod
    edited July 2011
    Note: I am not a loan advisor person.

It's definitely a good idea to lower that interest rate in whatever way possible, BUT if that new loan is not a "student" loan you might not get the same deferments and such if you lose your job or go back to school. Before you do this, think about how much is left on the loans, how quickly you'll be able to pay them back in your current situation, how stable your job situation is, and whether or not you'll be going back to school over the next couple years.