As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Making a Wordpress CMS website on local machine?

EncEnc A Fool with CompassionPronouns: He, Him, HisRegistered User regular
edited September 2011 in Help / Advice Forum
If I wanted to use something like Wordpress or another content management engine to make a large scale website (say, 300+ pages), would it be possible to do so on my home computer and be able to navigate it and such without it being hosted online until it is sufficiently complete? I've worked a lot with wordpress cms and dabbled with older html pages on my home machine in the past, but I've never tried something of this scale before and want to cover my bases before I go forward with this.

As background, I'm trying to make a mixed media narrative website (story through pictures, words, sound, etc).

Enc on

• Options
    amateurhouramateurhour One day I'll be professionalhour The woods somewhere in TennesseeRegistered User regular
    Enc wrote:
    If I wanted to use something like Wordpress or another content management engine to make a large scale website (say, 300+ pages), would it be possible to do so on my home computer and be able to navigate it and such without it being hosted online until it is sufficiently complete? I've worked a lot with wordpress cms and dabbled with older html pages on my home machine in the past, but I've never tried something of this scale before and want to cover my bases before I go forward with this.

As background, I'm trying to make a mixed media narrative website (story through pictures, words, sound, etc).

Yeah, you can host a website on your local machine through IIS and just keep it offline until you're ready to upload it to the world, however you're going to need some kind of sql db manager to handle wordpress.