Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.
Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!

Would you reply to this potential job email?

The_SpaniardThe_Spaniard Registered User regular
I'm looking for work right now, and I just got the following email.
ALFONSO ,

I found your resume online.
Are you still looking for work?

Sincerely,
Ron Garza
http://helpfindingajob.net

Problem is, it was sent to an email address I have not listed on any applications I have sent out. Also the email itself is really spartan with almost no interview, like something you would spam out to a bunch of people. Is this website legit or some kind of scam.

So once again, frankly I'm not familiar with the site, I don't know this person, and they are emailing me at an address I don't use on applications. Should I trash it, or at the very least reply and ask how he got my email?

Xbox 360 Gamertag: SpanWolf/PS3 Gamertag: Span_Wolf
3DS: Span_Wolf - 4854-6434-9883/WiiU:Span_Wolf
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/Span_Wolf/

Posts

  • TomantaTomanta Registered User regular
    No, I would not reply. Just trash it. It's spam or some sort of scam (and that's without even looking at the site).

    Anyone genuinely interested in hiring you or helping you find a job would have given more information in an email.

    camo_sig2.png
  • godmodegodmode Registered User regular
    I did look at the website, and there's no hope there. Sorry, but don't try and follow up through that one.

    sig.jpg
  • MichaelLCMichaelLC In what furnace was thy brain? ChicagoRegistered User regular
    SPAM.

    Farscape is pretty much the best at anything
  • ToxTox I kill threads Let Piggy Chimp decideRegistered User regular
    MichaelLC wrote:
    SPAM.

    3h5Wc.png
    Secret Satans! Post | D&D Wishlist | General Wishlist
    Dilige, et quod vis fac
  • The_SpaniardThe_Spaniard Registered User regular
    Pretty much 99% sure it was spam, but frankly when you have been unemployed for a while, you can't afford not to at least question a potential job offer.

    Xbox 360 Gamertag: SpanWolf/PS3 Gamertag: Span_Wolf
    3DS: Span_Wolf - 4854-6434-9883/WiiU:Span_Wolf
    Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/Span_Wolf/
  • godmodegodmode Registered User regular
    That's understandable. And that's exactly why there IS spam like that.

    sig.jpg
  • MichaelLCMichaelLC In what furnace was thy brain? ChicagoRegistered User regular
    To ad more, I totally understand: I even gave my SS out to someone over the phone - and later posted about it - in hopes of a job.

    You're US, right? Have you got your name out to the temp/contract agencies in your area? Places like ManPower or Robert Half are pretty much always looking for people, though most are limited assignments. Otherwise just get your resume in shape and send it out.

    As for job spam, anything that's super-vague like that, anything that thinks you'd be a great "account exec" or "territory manager," and almost always group interviews are all sales pitches.

    Farscape is pretty much the best at anything
  • splashsplash Registered User
    Who fully capitalizes someone's name? I've been posting a lot of high-end furniture for sale for my friend in the last couple of months and come across scammers all the time. For some reason they capitalize things that shouldn't.

    The website looks really fake. It has a typo on the front page. But you could ask the registrar himself: trayhoneycutt@msn.com

    The join button leads to: aweber.com, which claims to have a very strong anti-spam policy where you can email abuse@aweber.com to get spammers' accounts terminated.

    splash on
Sign In or Register to comment.