As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Prescription sunglasses

VarinnVarinn Vancouver, BCRegistered User regular
edited September 2011 in Help / Advice Forum
I picked up my first ever pair of prescription sunglasses last week after tiring of the long time summer glare. I had a mild change in my eyes between getting my standard clears and my shades (-3.5/-3.75 old vs -3.75/-4.0 new) I can understand the difference. I've been wearing glasses for over 10 years now so I'm well accustomed to the changes. However I've NEVER had a pair that threw off my perception of depth like my new ones do. Clarity wise, everything is absolutely perfect, however it feels like looking at things through a fishbowl and anything less than ~10ft away becomes incredibly hard to just distance. It's most noticable when doing simple tasks like judging where stairs are, or reaching for the radio in the car. The doctors tell me this will go away, but after a week I'm still not able to feel totally comfortable wearing them.

Has anyone else ever experienced this? Does it infact, go away? I'm guessing it has to do with the vastly different profile of the frames. My clears are almost completely flat faced when viewed from the top down, while the sunglasses have the bridge roughly half an inch further forward than the outer edges. Both pairs have the lenses as thin as they could be made.

These are the buggers in question
http://www.ray-ban.com/international/products/sun/RB3426?var=004/82

Varinn on

• Options
    RobAnybodyRobAnybody Registered User regular