As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Help Me Beef-Up My Resume So I Can Get a Job That Isn't Awful

Hexmage-PAHexmage-PA Registered User regular
edited October 2011 in Help / Advice Forum
It's been several months since I graduated from college with my Bachelor's Degree in Sociology, and I haven't had any luck in terms of finding a job. My dad helped me get a temp job, but it only pays eight bucks a hour, and that's not gonna cut-it.

The first thing I want to focus on is improving my resume. While I feel like I could be capable of performing administrative assistance or data entry, I don't really have any past job experience to vouch for me. Here's what I've got to work with:

EDUCATION: Bachelor of Arts in Sociology (Sept. 2007-May 2011)
 Familiarity with programs such as Microsoft Word and Microsoft Excel.
 Typing speed of approximately 80 words per minute.
 Possessed of superb writing skills which allow information to be relayed in a clear and concise manner.
 Ability to discern the most practical, efficient, and least time-intensive methods of solving given tasks.
 Some basic knowledge of Lean Manufacturing principles, including kaizen and 5S, gleaned from experiences with Lean coordinators at kaizen events.
 Willing to take a leadership role and delegate responsibilities to individuals based on their skills and prior experiences.
 Knowledge of investigative skills, such as survey construction and participant observation.
 Understanding of the social needs of individuals in the workplace, such as camaraderie.
 Amicable and patient in regards to others.
 Tolerant of differing points of view.
 Able to remain impartial when making decisions.
 Able to handle multiple responsibilities simultaneously.