As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Going to school and changing career at my age.

DeciusDecius I'm old! I'm fat!I'M BLUE!Registered User regular
edited February 2012 in Help / Advice Forum
So I'm at a crossroads in my life (god that sounded even more cliche when I said it back to myself). I just turned 29. I'm an IT professional, currently working as a Systems and Network Support Analyst. The company I work for is huge, and there's no real room for advancement unless the people ahead of me retire or die. The overall mentality here is also something I'm not fond of, though it is endemic in large corporations. Now I've never taken any post secondary education for my chosen field, as I've been able to get by on experience and knowledge. I have an A+ cert and a mile long resume. However I've come to the point where I now need to consider getting some paperwork, which has lead me to the realization that I'm starting to really dislike my current career path. The company I've been working at may have had some influence on that, but I just can't see myself doing IT for the rest of my life. Since I'm already looking at schooling options, I've decided to start peaking around at full time and potentially degree programs. Engineering has piqued my interest, which has led me to this post and the afore mentioned crossroads.