As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Scam job offers and boredom are a bad mix

UltimanecatUltimanecat Registered User regular
edited March 2012 in Help / Advice Forum
So, I'm currently an unemployed ex-law student who, as a favor, is helping manage my friend's uncle's small business since his uncle is having trouble doing it himself.

Yesterday, as I was helping a customer, he asked me what I was doing otherwise since I seemed "too smart" and "too much of a people person" to be working where I was. I told the customer that I was previously in school but dropped out for financial reasons and was helping out family friends, at which point he started going into a long spiel about how he knew how tough times were and that he was making tons of money part-time offering some sort of financial service and he wanted me "in on the ground floor". I asked him for a card and he said he had just given out his last one, but he gave me his details and asked for mine. He then said that he'd let the other people in his business know about me and that there was a invite-only presentation / open-house I should go to this week.

So, by now my bullshit detectors are going off, but hey, I'm not really gainfully employed and have nothing better to do than stir shit up for potential fraudsters, plus I'm a 200 lbs guy with a shaved head so I figure there are easier marks than me if the goal was for me to show up and them to have their way with me.

Anyway, so I'm thinking of going to this presentation / open-house, but I was hoping I could get some advice on what stuff to look out for if it is indeed a scam, and also how and to whom I may go about reporting it if it does end up that way. I've seen a thread or two here about people dealing with scammy jobs and figured I could get some help.