As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Moving to Chicago | what to do? where to live? yay lollapalooza!

initiatefailureinitiatefailure Registered User regular
edited July 2012 in Help / Advice Forum
So, I'm actually moving to the Chicago area during the Lollapalooza weekend, during which I have a pass and can at least spend the weekend ignoring the many things required to actually move.

When I get there I'm staying with family in a suburb that's just a few minutes off the train line into the city so my immediate needs are covered.

From there I need to start looking for a place of my own. I was wondering if anyone had any advice on that, regarding neighborhoods, where to go/avoid, etc.

For price range reference I'm a recent college grad so I can't afford anything extravagant but anything like average price range for different areas will be helpful.

initiatefailure on

• Options
    tyrannustyrannus i am not fat Registered User regular
    edited July 2012
    Here's a list of Q1 2012 average rent spreads. http://static.rentjuice.com/rj_index/ChicagoIndex-1Q2012.pdf

It will break down walkability factors for you.

I have heard that avoiding areas south of the loop is a good bet.

tyrannus on
  • Options
    LilnoobsLilnoobs Alpha Queue Registered User regular
    edited July 2012
    What is your age? What is your relationship status? What do you prefer to do? Where will you work? Are you okay with walking? Do you own a car? What is rent within your price range?

Logan square is one of the newer "hip" neighborhoods to live, near Wicker park. You're further from the lake though and the blue line is annoying to use to go anywhere besides straight to the loop. But there's plenty of restaurants, young people, and bars.