As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

I want a new job in a new city

BuddiesBuddies Registered User regular
edited July 2012 in Help / Advice Forum
My new years resolution for 2012 was to get a new [better] job. Ideally one in a bigger city than I currently am in. Denver is heading up the city list as my #1 spot right now as it is supposed to have a good job market, it has great scenery and [outdoorsy] things to do in the area, is the US Capitol for Micro Brews, and I've only really heard good things about the place.

I am currently employed in IT with 6 years experience, and have been at my current job for 4 years now. I have a Bachelor's in IT as well as my Security+ certification. What I am wondering is, would a recruiter or recruitment firm be a good idea for someone like me that is wants to relocate to another area and has absolutely zero contacts in any of the areas I want to live in? Anyone use a recruiter to find a job recently? Was the experience good? Would I be better off doing a ton of research in the companies out there and then applying to the ones I think I would fit in best at? Could... could I do both? Anyone have any recruiter contacts they could pass my way?

Anyone live in, or have been to, Denver? What do you like/hate about the place? Is the city you are from better than Denver, tell me about it!

I need a change in my life. I'm 28 and I've lived in VA Beach for over 20 years now and I want out. I want mountains in the background to look at. I want to go snowboarding more. I want to leave all my friends and family and start a life for myself.

Buddies on

• azith28azith28 Registered User regular