As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

My Grad School Dilemmas

Ravenhpltc24Ravenhpltc24 So RavenRegistered User regular
edited September 2012 in Help / Advice Forum
Hi everyone!

1. It's my senior year of college, I will graduate in the spring with a BS in Communications (Television/Radio, video production concentration), and a minor in Marketing. I had not considered attending graduate school at all until last year, since my degree is a "professional degree" (or so they tell me) and does not require additional certifications to land me a job. I've recently come to doubt this, a lot, as my passion for video production wanes.

2. The Marketing thing is new. I worry that I won't be accepted into an International Marketing graduate program with only a minor in the subject. I'm also wondering if a marketing degree will complement my TV/R degree like I've deluded myself into thinking it will. (Advertising? Entertainment marketing? Yeah?)

3. I really want to study in the UK. I'm American, and spent last fall in a study abroad program in London, which I absolutely loved. I really would like to live there for more time, and making the move fresh out of college seems like the best way to ensure that it happens.

I really would like some opinions on this. I can't seem to find much information on my chances of getting a spot in a grad program in a field unrelated to my major. Has anyone had this problem? Will an MSc in Marketing increase my chances of employment? Should I move to another country without the safety net of my friends and home university? Am I going for the right reasons?

Thank you for your help.

(V) ( ;,,; ) (V)
Ravenhpltc24 on

• Options
    KrubixCubeKrubixCube JapanRegistered User regular