As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Shipping frozen food or flying with it?

superhappypandasuperhappypanda Zug Island Sport FishingSeattleRegistered User regular
So I have a couple pounds of leaf lard that I wanted to bring back with me from Seattle to Detroit so I can use it while making Christmas dinner this year. Anyone have any experience flying with frozen food (fish, game, etc.) or with shipping it? I'm thinking I'd rather take it with me on the plane since it won't sit around in a delivery truck or a warehouse for days. I've never done anything like this before so I wasn't sure where to start or what I'd need to get it from point A to point B. Also, the lard is frozen currently. I have soft cooler that can hold a few pounds of the stuff and possibly some dry ice but I'm assuming they wouldn't allow dry ice as a carry on.

• Options
    cmsamocmsamo Registered User regular
    You have to be careful about crossing borders with food in general, but that doesn't apply in this case, I see. I've packed meat products in air tight Tupperware containers, with an ice pack, and put it in my suitcase (ie checked baggage) a couple of times with no issues. My round trip was 22 hours door to door, and the bacon and meat were fine (and still cold) at the other end. If you pack in checked luggage it will go in the hold which gets COLD, and helps you keep stuff fresh

steam_sig.png
  • Options
    DaMoonRulzDaMoonRulz Mare ImbriumRegistered User regular
    If you're going to take it with you, put it in your checked baggage. I would suggest putting an ice pack in the container, in case it gets put in the heated hold, if the plane has one.

3basnids3lf9.jpg

• Options
    superhappypandasuperhappypanda Zug Island Sport Fishing SeattleRegistered User regular