As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

crockpots and/or hot meals

RhinoRhino TheRhinLOLRegistered User regular
edited March 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
hey guys, should I get a crockpots?

Debating points:

a) I'm not good at cooking
b) I enjoy hot meals
c) I do NOT enjoy burning down my house while my food cooks unintended.

from here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crock_pot

"Vitamins and other trace nutrients are lost, particularly from vegetables, partially by enzyme action during cooking."

How much is lost? Can I prevent this lost o vitamins and/or trace nutrients? Are they just burned up or are they "in the water"" ? If I make a stew are all the good stuff in the juice/water ?

Any other options for hot tasty meals? I like hot meals (see bullet point B above).

93mb4.jpg
Rhino on

• Options
    DaedalusDaedalus Registered User regular
    edited March 2007
    Dude, what did we tell you about Wikipedia?

Yeah, the vitamins end up in the broth, depending on what you're cooking. I mean, they don't just fucking disappear. Or they stay in the food and Wiki is full of shit. Depends on the dish. It's the same effect as cooking something on low heat over a stove, really. In any case, this is why you drink the broth when you make soup.

Crock-pots are some kind of divine gift to cooking. You throw shit in there in the morning and you have food waiting for you at night. Then you throw oatmeal or whatever in there at night and breakfast is ready. Everyone should own at least one.

Daedalus on
  • Options
    RhinoRhino TheRhinLOL Registered User regular
    edited March 2007
    Dude, what did we tell you about Wikipedia?

??

I don't remember. What did you tell me?

Rhino on
    93mb4.jpg
  • Options
    edited March 2007
    This site: