As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

A Summer in DC

JurgJurg In a TeacupRegistered User regular
edited May 2013 in Help / Advice Forum
Hey everyone. I was offered an internship in Northwest DC over the summer, and I'm looking for a place nearby. Anyone have any info about DC? Good places to stay (as in housing), eat, hang out, etc.?

I'm going to try combing through Craigslist later, though I've never used it before. I figure it couldn't hurt to post here as well. Thanks in advance for any tips.

sig.gif
Jurg on

• Options
    UsagiUsagi Nah Registered User regular
    Check with the universities in the area, when I was interning in DC a bunch of them would rent out dorm rooms for the summer because they know a ton of people are coming in short term

• Options
    JurgJurg In a TeacupRegistered User regular
    I'm looking at about 700/wk before taxes. Not sure how much after. I'd prefer to be near some public transportation.

I'll check out the universities as well. I didn't know the universities themselves had sublets.

sig.gif
  • Options
    DarkewolfeDarkewolfe Registered User regular
    You are going to have trouble finding a place for $700/week in most places in northwest. Your best bet is to look for a small room in a place somewhere around Columbia Heights, probably, depending on where your internship is.

You might also be able to find something further out in NW, but the public transportation up there is a lot crappier because no metro.

What is this I don't even.
  • Options
    OrestusOrestus Registered User regular