As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Game Dev - Unreal 4.13 Out Now!

• Options
    LaCabraLaCabra MelbourneRegistered User regular
    edited May 2016
    I'm not a programmer but it always seems weird to me when seemingly everyone is super down on C++ but it's used to write so much huge shit and you know, Carmack ain't no fool. Unreal and Source and id tech are on it, surely it's alright??

#notaprogrammer

LaCabra on
  • Options
    UselesswarriorUselesswarrior Registered User regular
    edited May 2016
    It's because C++ (and C) are in a fairly unique space and no one has cared enough to replace them (or those who do care are fine with C++). In the 90s, totally made sense for Carmack to be programming in C, it was the best choice. Right now, I completely understand why big game developers / engine developers use C++, it's the best tool in the space. However, for my needs, and for the needs of a lot of indie game developers who just want to get shit done, C++ is not the best tool.

Best #notaprogrammer analogy I can come up with. C++ is a heavy duty industrial floor buffer that is unwieldy and dangerous (floor buffer totally killed a guy last year). If you in business by yourself or a small team, you don't want to use this floor buffer because of the cons listed above. You'll stick with a easier to handle less capable floor buffer. In a pitch, this easier to use floor buffer will buff floors and for most jobs it's fine, but for those big and demanding jobs it's not in the same league as the C++ industrial floor buffer. However, if you are a well organized professional contracting company with insurance, this C++ floor buffer is worth the difficulty / danger because it allows you to do things no other floor buffer allows. (I'm not great with analogies)