As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

[Music] Maker's Thread.

Cherry Berry GangstaCherry Berry Gangsta Registered User regular
edited April 2015 in Artist's Corner
In this thread, let's share & critique tracks, help each other out, talk about the industry, and make some noise.

wnjHlpY.jpg

I'm a beginner interested in digital audio production. Which application should I use?

Get your hands on one of the above DAWs (Digital Audio Workstations). You will no doubt encounter debate over which DAW is best for what specific purpose, but at the end of the day - they can all achieve the same result.

Alright, I have a DAW installed & loaded up. What is all this? Where the hell do I start?

Tutorials, son! No matter what DAW, you'll find plenty of resources. Start by finding a general introduction to the user interface, then get specific and search for tutorials relevant to what you want to create.

I made a song - now what?

Create a soundcloud account. Upload & share!

q8299N2.jpg?1

In the same way that Photoshop comes installed with "stock" brushes & visual effects - a DAW comes loaded with simple virtual instruments & audio effects. You'll have a large amount of tools to play with, but eventually, you'll want to expand your horizons. Try experimenting with third party virtual instruments & plugins (many of which are free) or use an external microphone to record anything!

Besides composing electronic music, you might decide you want to branch out into sound design or even recording & mixing a live band!

Iruka on

• Cherry Berry GangstaCherry Berry Gangsta Registered User regular
    edited June 2014
    My music!

beSGyal.jpg