As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

About Game of the Year polls: Looking for volunteers

mccmcc glitchRegistered User, ClubPA regular
Hello The Penny Arcade. If you recognize me, it's probably because for some time I've been doing a yearly megascale "Game of the Year" poll on this forum. (200-300 nominees, each voter ranks their favorite 20, it spits out a ranked ordering of the best 200 or so games of the year.) I've been doing the poll since 2014 (ten so far!) and, uh, basically I'm coming by here to say I'm not doing one this year*. But! There does seem to be a core of people here who really like the GOTY poll. So I wanted to offer, if there is anyone here who would be willing to run the poll in my place, I would be more than happy to share the software and help you get it set up.

We will need:
- Someone willing to make a list of nominees. (My rules are usually: Non-beta release must have come out in America in the last year, no ports no expansion packs; with leniency for ports or expansion packs that feel like "full conversions", or late additions where the original was an omission in a previous year.)
- Someone willing to host the software. It requires a web server running PHP and MySQL. Whoever runs the thing will need to do some minor work at the end also-- the scripts spit out a results grid automatically, but I always do some simple ballot-stuffing detection checks and do a nice formatted writeup where I explain the results.

And if you wanted once you have the source you could maybe make any changes the community felt like, fix up my serviceable-but-creaky javascript or somehow link ability to vote to your PA forum login so cheat detection gets even easier. I dunno.