Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.
Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!

The Library of Blockadia [Links & Resources] (updated 4/24/16)

QuothQuoth the RavenMiami, FL FOR REALRegistered User regular
edited April 2016 in The Writer's Block
TWB Threads and Activities

RULES

IRC Information

Chat

Movie Watching Club

Reading

Accountability

Word of the Week (writing game)

Chronicles (epistolary group fiction)

Poetry

Anthology Submissions

NaNoWriMo


Publishing

Duotrope: https://duotrope.com/
–Paid site that lets you search for publications, track submissions and see stats on response times

The Submission Grinder: http://thegrinder.diabolicalplots.com/
–A less attractive but more free alternative to Duotrope

Writer Beware: http://www.sfwa.org/other-resources/for-authors/writer-beware/

Preditors and Editors: http://pred-ed.com/

SFWA Membership Requirements: http://www.sfwa.org/about/join-us/sfwa-membership-requirements/
–Includes lists of qualifying venues for novels and short stories

Harlequin writing guidelines: http://www.harlequin.com/articlepage.html?articleId=538&chapter=0

Agent Query: http://www.agentquery.com/
-Free database of literary agents

Association of Authors' Representatives: http://aaronline.org/

Query Shark: http://queryshark.blogspot.com/
-How to write and revise query letters


Critiquing

Let's Get Critical, Critical: http://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/199297/lets-get-critical-critical-critiques#latest
-Our very own thread on best practices for critiquing

Turkey City Lexicon: http://www.sfwa.org/2009/06/turkey-city-lexicon-a-primer-for-sf-workshops/


Writing

How to describe skin tone: http://writingwithcolor.tumblr.com/post/96830966357/writing-with-color-description-guide-words-for

Seven Steps to the Perfect Story: http://www.the-cma.com/news/seven-steps-to-the-perfect-story

The Snowflake Method: http://www.advancedfictionwriting.com/art/snowflake.php

Worldbuilding Questions: http://www.sfwa.org/2009/08/fantasy-worldbuilding-questions/

The Art of Dramatic Writing – Premise: http://www.writerswrite.com/fiction/egri.htm

Jim Butcher – Story Skeletons: http://jimbutcher.livejournal.com/1308.html

The Lester Dent Pulp Paper Master Fiction Plot: http://www.paper-dragon.com/1939/dent.html

How to write a novel in three days: http://www.wetasphalt.com/content/how-write-book-three-days-lessons-michael-moorcock

Outline Your Novel in Thirty Minutes: http://www.aliciarasley.com/artout.htm

A map to get out of writer’s block: http://nybookeditors.com/book-editing-copy-editing-proofreading-self-publishing-blog/2013/3/12/a-map-to-get-out-of-writers-block#sthash.AuWOZpt7.dpbs

Jeff VanderMeer’s Wonderbook site: http://wonderbooknow.com/

Stephen King on imagery: http://www.wordplayer.com/pros/pr13.King.Stephen.html

The Emotion Thesauraus: http://thebookshelfmuse.blogspot.com/p/the-emotion-thesaurus.html

Stuff from Chuck Wendig’s blog, which is generally NSFW due to saucy language:

http://terribleminds.com/ramble/2012/09/25/25-things-you-should-do-before-starting-your-next-novel/
http://terribleminds.com/ramble/2012/01/17/25-things-writers-should-start-doing/
http://terribleminds.com/ramble/2013/05/14/25-things-you-should-know-about-outlining/
http://terribleminds.com/ramble/2011/09/14/25-ways-to-plot-plan-and-prep-your-story/
http://terribleminds.com/ramble/2012/11/27/how-chuck-wendig-writes-a-novel/
http://terribleminds.com/ramble/2013/10/08/welcome-to-nanowrimo-prep-school-word-nerds/

Generators

The Mighty Master Generation Station: http://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/199285/the-mighty-master-generation-station-for-all-your-random-idea-needs#latest

Quoth on
Sign In or Register to comment.