As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

What is the Etiquette of Payment Agreement of Room Sharing to Strangers?

WellywokzWellywokz Registered User regular
edited March 2016 in PAX East
I have been contacting people in Room sharing Threads and experienced lots of mix results.

Some were ok of forwarding their confirmation email, take a picture, or give me their OnPeak ID so I can put it on Paypal for Deposit.
Others were not comfortable giving me any confirmation if they have the reservation.
I just don't want to get scammed. But I do understand how people don't want to give out info.

Question
What is the proper way to insure a spot when sharing a room with a stranger?
This is my first time doing this.

zerzhul on

• Options
    GhostDanGhostDan Registered User regular
    "You got a room?" "Yea" "You got space for one more?" "Sure" "Great, I'll send you movies you let me stay?" "Sounds good"

• Options
    DeathJest3rDeathJest3r Registered User regular
    Wellywokz wrote: »
    Question

I would think that forwarding the Onpeak confirmation is the bare minimum if you are posting in a room share thread. The only personal info on the confirmation is the guest's email address. I personally would not trust a host that will not provide that to you.

Now on the flipside, the host may request that you send a deposit so that you do not flake out. Do not send the full weekend amount because that will give them the opportunity to just cut and run.

I always book the hotel for my friends group so hopefully someone who has used the room share threads can give you more specific advice.

• Options
    SutibunRiSutibunRi Montreal, Quebec, CanadaRegistered User regular
    I've simply trusted the people posting about having space in the room share thread to be honest.