As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Backpacking Africa?

High Dive ChimpHigh Dive Chimp Registered User regular
Hey all!

I'm planning to backpack in Africa this summer, starting in late-July or very early August, and maybe lasting for... well, I'm not sure yet. My budget is about 3,000 to 4,000 U.S. total, so I'm hoping to squeeze out a month from that? But I'm fine with less/more!

I know writing "Africa" seems a bit stupid, as it's a whole continent with dozens of unique countries. But I do have some interests that I definitely want to check off--namely, Rwanda and South Africa. I studied both quite a bit in university. However, I don't want to fly into Rwanda, spend some time there, then fly down to South Africa without hitting anything else! Seems like such a waste. The issue is that I'm not very knowledgeable about many other countries in-between or around.

I've been doing research, and plan on doing more, but the issue with this is that I'm finding a whole lot about safaris and whatnot, even when I research backpacking in Africa, and I'm just not very interested in that. I love natural beauty, and I'm not inherently opposed to seeing lions and elephants and hippos, but I'm trying to be as budget-minded as possible, and some of these tours seem insanely expensive, even for just a few days. Plus, like I said, I'm mainly interested in the history of each place.