As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Can you help me find a job? - Portland to Seattle

iamgregoriamgregor Registered User regular
edited May 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
I'm new to the forums so I'm sorry to post something like this right off, but I really need some advice. I'm looking for a new career path where I can use my skills and talents instead of just my abilities.

Specifically, I have a Master's Degree in Computer Science and I've been doing secure systems design work for a three-letter agency in the DC area for the last 2 years. I'm making good money, but I grew up in the Northwest and all my family is there. More importantly, I can make a good living doing system design for the feds, but it's just not what I want to do.

If you will bear with me, here is a short rundown of me:

I have strong communication skills (oddly so for a technical person such as myself). I used to work in sales and I've honed the ability to explain complicated things to people in simple terms. On that note, I have spent many years in school, at work, and at home gathering information about things and compiling it into reports, papers, and documents for other people to read. In other words, I am a good "research then report"-er.

I love to design and express myself creatively though my true skills lie in improving ideas of others. For example, I play a game and can see many different creative ways to improve it or just vary it enough that it doesn't get boring. I can often be found lurking in the game forums of my favorite MMO making suggestions that I hope someone is listening to.