As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Six Sigma And Other Business Management Fads That Should Die

124»

• Options
    ShlankShlank Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    Well our company is about 100 people but the majority of that is the call center. We have a very small staff of actual survey programmers / QA people. We use the ConfirmIT tool that's built on jscript (which seems to suck hard) and for that we have 3 or 4 programmers we also have 3 programmers for Cold Fusion. Mind you we're missing 1 ConfirmIT programmer and 1 ColdFusion programmer due to maternity leave. Our main ConfirmIT programmer is self taught.

We have 3 main QA people of which I am one. I have no real idea of how I became the manager since I've only been here for 2 years.

We already have a consistent testing process, however the problem we have is that survey logic is usually in flux between very simple and very complex. Using the ConfirmIT tool to do the complex stuff means we're actually pushing the tool beyond it's limits. This usually means that our processes are changing from project to project. Also, we have very short turn around time, usually 2 weeks is the longest something ever goes before it gets fielded.

I really have no fucking clue how I can improve quality when there's so many areas for human error (our clients like to fuck around with surveys hours before launch but refuse to move timelines to accomedate).

Shlank on
    Shlankx.png
  • Options
    Andrew_JayAndrew_Jay Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    Feral wrote: »
    Andrew_Jay wrote: »
    Koekjes wrote: »