As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Laptop shuts down even while battery >40%

sonictksonictk Registered User regular
edited August 2007 in Games and Technology
Hi.

I have a 3 year old Toshiba Satellite R10 tablet. Pictured for...visualization?

screeniefh5.th.jpg

Thing is, in the past year or so, I've noticed that it seems to be running a little odd. It reports that battery levels are above 40% (sometimes even above 50%) after I give it a full charge and use it for a while, and then it'll (without warning) shut down by itself. Now I have warnings set up for when the level hits 25% (just a warning) and auto shut down if battery level hits 7%.

I've never really noticed this until the past few months or so, since I never actually really brought the laptop to school (yes I'm a student), mostly using it for its tablet capabilites. (Sort of like having a Cintiq, though a little slower, but I got it kind of cheap price-wise.) I mostly left it charging...with the power on even at full charge and never bothering to give it full discharges and etc for my first year of ownership or so. Yes I knew battery life can be substantially shortened through such carelessness but back then I didn't really think much of it. And tbh the laptop seemed to do fine for the times I took it around the house to work on stuff.

Now, though, the laptop seems to be able to handle a painting session in PS/Painter for about 2 hours, maybe a little more before I hear my shutdown tone and go 'crap' for not saving about an hour's worth of work. All the time.