Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.
Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!

Changing the Bios Boot screen Logo

Dragon6860Dragon6860 Registered User regular
edited September 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
Hey everyone, I'm looking for a bit of help, been scouring the net, but haven't found anything, so I thought I'd just come to the source. My college "gave" us laptops, which is great, but there's one rather annoying part of it. When I start it up, the logo of the college pops up where normally it'd be the IBM Thinkpad, or whatever. I think it's the motherboard image or something like that, but I have no idea how to change it, or if i even can without doing some surgery on it. Any help would be greatly appericated! Thanks again.

Dragon6860

Dragon6860 on
FTC: honk.
FTC: HONK.

Posts

  • MKRMKR Registered User regular
    edited September 2007
    Dragon6860 wrote: »
    Hey everyone, I'm looking for a bit of help, been scouring the net, but haven't found anything, so I thought I'd just come to the source. My college "gave" us laptops, which is great, but there's one rather annoying part of it. When I start it up, the logo of the college pops up where normally it'd be the IBM Thinkpad, or whatever. I think it's the motherboard image or something like that, but I have no idea how to change it, or if i even can without doing some surgery on it. Any help would be greatly appericated! Thanks again.

    Dragon6860

    The college probably made a deal with IBM to get customized BIOS firmware. You probably can change it, but it will almost certainly involve hacking the BIOS firmware.

  • japanjapan Registered User regular
    edited September 2007
    Could you update (or re-flash) the BIOS using that update utility thingy that Lenovo do for Thinkpads?

  • YarrYarr Registered User
    edited September 2007
    Often there will be bios updates on the laptop manufacturer's web site. If you re-flash the bios with that it should just use the manufacturer's logo.

    piratesigsmall-ell.png
  • DrFrylockDrFrylock Registered User regular
    edited September 2007
    Naw, it's much simpler than that. Some BIOSes have a user-flashable area for a bitmap that shows at boot-time. This part can be independently flashed with software. I used to have one on my Intel Venus motherboard and since I made the machine myself I changed out the default logo for a "DrFrylock-Made!" one. You should replace yours with something like "LOL PWNED!"

    The software and instructions you need are here. Happy hacking!

    Spoiler:
  • Dragon6860Dragon6860 Registered User regular
    edited September 2007
    Thanks! I'll get to work on it after class and tell you how it went. Hehe, I'm always a bit hesitant about putzing about with the BIOS, but eh :) Also, my comp isn't a Thinkpad, but it should work anywho. Thanks again!

    Dragon6860

    FTC: honk.
    FTC: HONK.
Sign In or Register to comment.