As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

[The Boondocks] is over, the finale was awful. Sigh.

DracomicronDracomicron Registered User regular
the_boondocks.jpg

This is my first attempt at starting a thread for this forum, and I looked; there didn't seem to be any threads specifically about my current favorite cartoon series, The Boondocks.

When it was a cartoon strip, I thought it was quaint... a left wing commentary to contrast the right-leaning nation of the early 2000's. When it stopped being made because the author, one Aaron McGruder, was going into television, I was originally worried that we'd lost a unique voice to the halls of television sell-outedness.

Luckily, my fears were unfounded.

Flash-heavy site:
http://www.boondockstv.com/

This is one of the finest American cartoons in production, miles more consistant than "Family Guy" or, god forbid, "American Dad." The level of social commentary pulled off is, while not necessarally better than "The Simpsons," it's sharper and, perhaps, bolder.

A lot of the show's commedy is about race, but, unlike Carlos Mencia, it's not one-note, and doesn't go for the lowest common denomonator. The "N" word is used very consistantly throughout most episodes, but its use is generally by comical black people to denote their own ignorance (as opposed to informed black people like Huey), or by Huey in a scholarly tone to define certain behaviors ("a n***** moment").

The Main Cast:

Huey Freeman
220px-Huey_che.jpg