Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.
Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!

XBox 360 Hard-drive

Smug DucklingSmug Duckling Registered User regular
So, are you able to put any hard-drive you want in, or do you have to put in an official XBox 360 (tm) hard-drive for it to work?

The reason I ask is that I'm thinking of getting a 360 arcade since it is $100 less than the premium with the only difference being that it is missing the 20gb hard-drive, then using the $100 to buy a hard-drive much bigger than 20gb.

Am I misguided, stupid?

Smug Duckling on
smugduckling,pc,days.png

Posts

  • Dr_KeenbeanDr_Keenbean Registered User regular
    edited November 2007
    To my knowledge there is no (legitimate) way to just drop a drive into the 360's interesting housing.

    I believe they are simply SATA laptop drives but I've never taking the thing apart.

    PSN: Dr_Keenbean LIVE: Dr Keenbean
    Dr_Keenbean42.png
  • Dark ShroudDark Shroud Registered User regular
    edited November 2007
    The 360 only uses 360 hard drives that you have to buy from MS. You pay $100 for a 20gig or $180 for a 120gig. You will need a hard drive to play xBox1 games.

    FYI, the Arcade 360 only comes with composite cables. So you'll have to buy a component/HDMI cable as well if you want HD graphics or want/have the HD-DVD add-on.

    Edited for confusion, thanks chasm.

  • chasmchasm Ill-tempered Texan Registered User regular
    edited November 2007
    Shroud, you've got components and composites confused. ;-)

    XBL : lJesse Custerl | PSN : lJesseCusterl | Best vid ever. | 2nd best vid ever.
  • Dark ShroudDark Shroud Registered User regular
    edited November 2007
    A Homer Simpson D'oh icon would be great right about now. :)

  • NarketNarket __BANNED USERS
    edited November 2007
    One question I have about the hard drives is: Can I load up a saved game off of my friends hard drive, take it off, then put my hard drive on and save it to mine? I want his save on my hard drive, but I am not real savy on the whole copying files from one to another. Will it mess up anything on either drive, or mess up my 360?

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • ArrathArrath Registered User regular
    edited November 2007
    Narket wrote: »
    One question I have about the hard drives is: Can I load up a saved game off of my friends hard drive, take it off, then put my hard drive on and save it to mine? I want his save on my hard drive, but I am not real savy on the whole copying files from one to another. Will it mess up anything on either drive, or mess up my 360?

    What you're asking sounds like swapping hard drives out when the xbox is on. Thats a big no. Get a memory card if you want to swap saves between drives.

    cj iwakura wrote:
    Making for Oregon is suicide, as DOS games have shown.
  • DratatooDratatoo Registered User regular
    edited November 2007
    Another problem is that each savegame is linked to a profile. Unless you want to use his profile you can't do much with "his" savegames.

    gargoylesbanner4re.gif
  • Blake TBlake T Registered User regular
    edited November 2007
    If this is just the general hard drive thread a small question.

    How do I delete the Halo 3 beta from my crackdown save? Do I just go into it and it will give me the option to delete everything seperately? I'm a little worried just selecting it in case it deletes the entire save area.

  • BigRedBigRed Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    edited November 2007
    You cant dump whatever hard drive you want in it.

    There is security stuff on the drive and the drives firmware that allows the 360 to save protected/secure content to it.

    You can plug in USB drives into the 360, but the only good thing that is for is to store music becuase you cant save protected content to it.

    <MoeFwacky> besides, BigRed-Worky is right
  • Rotting MeatRotting Meat Registered User regular
    edited November 2007
    So to clarify, if I wanted to transfer a save game from one X360 to another I can't use a USB drive and would need to purchase an official memory card? (Situation: over Christmas I would like to play on my brother's X360, and then have all my progress when I return home after the break on my X360. And I would like to not spend money. What can I do?)

  • BigRedBigRed Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    edited November 2007
    So to clarify, if I wanted to transfer a save game from one X360 to another I can't use a USB drive and would need to purchase an official memory card? (Situation: over Christmas I would like to play on my brother's X360, and then have all my progress when I return home after the break on my X360. And I would like to not spend money. What can I do?)

    You have to spend money and get a xbox360 memory unit. Just like other previous consoles.

    Like said before, you cant transfer a savegame from a different profile to your own. it has to be your *own* savegame on your own live profile.

    <MoeFwacky> besides, BigRed-Worky is right
  • projectmayhemprojectmayhem Registered User regular
    edited November 2007
    I just want a place to say this:

    My xbox 360 just showed me it's three red rings of doom. I called up Microsoft, told them, and they are going to fix it despite my warrenty most likley being out of date. I am happy and sad all at once.

  • Qs23Qs23 Registered User regular
    edited November 2007
    I just want a place to say this:

    My xbox 360 just showed me it's three red rings of doom. I called up Microsoft, told them, and they are going to fix it despite my warrenty most likley being out of date. I am happy and sad all at once.

    Um... I can tell you that your 3 red rings warranty is not out of date. it's a 3 year warranty for that problem and the 360 isn't even 2 years old yet.

    PASig.gif
  • SandersSanders Registered User regular
    edited November 2007
    I just want a place to say this:

    My xbox 360 just showed me it's three red rings of doom. I called up Microsoft, told them, and they are going to fix it despite my warrenty most likley being out of date. I am happy and sad all at once.
    Your warranty is still active.
    Actually, I bet your warranty still has a least a year and 16 days left!

  • projectmayhemprojectmayhem Registered User regular
    edited November 2007
    Well hots to the damn. I had no idea they extended it again.

Sign In or Register to comment.