Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.
Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!

Help with Wireless connection needed

Kipling217Kipling217 Registered User regular
edited November 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
So, this is not what I wanted my first original thread to be about, but what can you do. D:

First some background info: I live in a neighbourhood that relativly newly built, as a result all the houses are less than 2 years old. As part of this all the houses got installed broadband internet, telephone and TV in the same switching box. My family(mom,me and stepdad) decided to set up the internet in a wireless form. The wireless system was secured, needing an acsess code to hook up. There are several similar systems withing a 100 meter area.

On friday the company had a technical problem affecting all of its customers. I was unaware of this. The problem was fixed later that day. My problem was that since then I can't use the home wireless system, despite having good signal strenght. My parents PC can still use the Internet without problem. I See the system and I get good signal strenght from it, but no dice

The system a first would say: Looking for network adress.
It would do that for 2-3 minutes and then say:Little or no connection
I thought I had solved it when I figured out I may have entered the wrong passcode and tried a different one. But now it says connected with good signal strenght and still I can't get online(no websites will open)

Strangly enough I can use another unsecured system in my street(bad taste I know). I have tried unplugging the router, run an antivirus on my PC. Deactivating/reactivating my card. clicking the repair function on wireless menu. Different variants of the passcode. Nothing works!

We did have a similar problem earlier, but that turned out to be the router malfunctioning and solved itself when we switched to the current one. And in that case it the router stopped transmitting, preventing us from picking it up at all. it also affected both computers in the house. This time like I said its only my computer.

Some advice on WIFI would be a great help.

Kipling217 on
Communicating from the last of the Babylon Stations.

Posts

  • theSquidtheSquid Sydney, AustraliaRegistered User regular
    edited November 2007
    Can you ping your router?

    Tea is always on topic.
  • Kipling217Kipling217 Registered User regular
    edited November 2007
    Well, if I knew what Ping the router means I could probably answer that. Since my knowledge of WiFi is entirely superficial. All those things I did, I did because I was told to do them.

    I probably should amend my OP.

    If you can give Questions and Answers in Idiot baby talk that would be better

    Communicating from the last of the Babylon Stations.
  • SeguerSeguer Registered User regular
    edited November 2007
    When you try to connect to a network, how many networks are there available to connect to? You may be trying to connect to the wrong one, which has a different password/less signal strength.

    Ping is done (windows) by opening the command prompt (Start -> Run. Enter "cmd" and hit OK) and typing in "ping ipaddress" or "ping domain" where ipaddress for your router might be something like 192.168.1.1 A domain would be google.com

    If, in the command prompt, you type in "ipconfig" it should give you a whole list of information. If you're connected at all, you should have an IP Address starting with 192.168 (might be different). Regardless, if you ping the ip address that is after "Default Gateway" if it is there, that should be your router, and that will tell you if you can ping it. (Should be like "Reply from x...")

  • Kipling217Kipling217 Registered User regular
    edited November 2007
    I can see a lot of networks that i can conect to. I live in an area with a lot of wifi activity. (the houses are apartment and very close togheter. I try to only conect to my own network as it has a unike name. I get the ip adress, its 192.168 and so forth. The machine says I am connected but I can't use the internet from my own network.

    I can log on to another(unsecure) network and use their internet, but not my own. My Mom can use her PC to log on without problem to our network.
    My pc runs XP if thats usefull.
    Will try your advice and get back to you as soon as possible.

    Communicating from the last of the Babylon Stations.
  • SeguerSeguer Registered User regular
    edited November 2007
    What was the gateway when you used ipconfig? Depending on your router, you should be able to access an options page go going to that IP

  • Kipling217Kipling217 Registered User regular
    edited November 2007
    Ok. problem solved!! I used the advice you guys gave. I also called my cards maker tech support. Combined I got the help I needed.

    Seems I enter the wrong Password when I tried to sign up for the router.

    I also had a conflict with Windows XP WiFi system and my WiFi Card, with my card searching for connections and XP trying to contact them. I have now deactivated the XP WiFi.

    TheSquid And Seguer Thanks;-) You guys are prince amongst men.

    Communicating from the last of the Babylon Stations.
This discussion has been closed.