As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

New Router?

SaarutoSaaruto Registered User regular
edited February 2008 in Games and Technology
I have been using a wireless Linksys router (the WRT54G) for almost 4-5 years now...and it sucks. I'm fed up, and suffice to say, I am looking into a new one. Any recommendations for a good gigabit router with wireless?

If you can chill, chill.
Steam ID
Saaruto on

• Options
    slash000slash000 Registered User regular
    edited February 2008
    My linksys has been fucking up regularly for a while now. So I got a certain netgear that supposedly has greater signal range. Turns out, it has pathetic signal range. So now I'm back to my much older linksys which fucks up occasionally. Stupid linksys. Stupid netgear.

slash000 on
  • Options
    JeffyJeffy Registered User regular
    edited February 2008
    Yea I use that one and quite frankly a lot of people do as well. It's annoying sometimes that it'll stop working, but you can just reset it and it doesn't really happen that often really. Just make sure the firmware is updated. Mine was acting like a fucktard until I upgraded it and now it's pretty much fine and has only fucked with me around once or twice since I've upgraded it (which was about 10 months ago).

Jeffy on
  • Options
    freshmasterfreshfreshmasterfresh Registered User regular
    edited February 2008
    I've decided I'm going to get a Time Capsule when I move out. I'm so tired of the bullshit quality assurance Linksys, D-Link, and Netgear seem to have. Apple might charge a lot more and have worse performance, but at least I can automatically backup to a 1TB drive wirelessly with ZERO configuration. Not to mention the convenience of a zero configuration wireless networked hard drive in such a small package.