As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Help on career, Dream Job vs Money Job

precisionkprecisionk Registered User regular
edited April 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
So I work in IT and make $50k a year and I hate going to work everyday.

I have been looking around and applied at a few games, one in which has to deal with games, which contacted me.

It is essentially my dream job in a nutshell. I would be marketing these games and going to cons and stuff and pretty much being a creative force and creating that buzz in the industry.

Only one problem:

It pays half of what I make currently. After seeing what my checks would look like, my heart fell to the floor. After looking what I pay for rent and what they pay, one of my checks would be entirely eaten up by rent and I don't know if I could get by.

Has anyone been in this situation? What do you do? Love or money?

precisionk on

• Options
    MegaMan001MegaMan001 CRNA Rochester, MNRegistered User regular
    edited April 2008
    Let me preface this by saying that I am a mere 22 years old. I just got out of college and I work as a Registered Nurse at the Mayo Clinic. I could have made a lot more money doing travel nursing, work as a nursing legal aide in a law office...etc. However, for me, there's nothing to replace the sense of satisfaction I get from helping a wounded family navigate the minefield that is modern medicine. To say nothing of the pride I get from responding to a Code Blue and saving a life with my own hands.

For me, it's not even a contest. I'd deal with making much less to retain the sense of excitement I get when I go to work in the morning. Not dreading work gives me a much higher quality of life I think.