As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

student loan deferment and advice

HalberdBlueHalberdBlue Registered User regular
edited May 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
Hi, I'm an undergrad right now. I'm figuring out how much in loans I need to take out for the coming school year (my 2nd) and researching on deferment periods and all that. I discovered that the loan I took out for my first year only allows for a deferment of 4 years in graduate school - I plan on doing my PhD in Physics which typically takes about 6 years, so that obviously isn't going to work. The loan I got for my first year is a CitiAssist loan, which is from CitiBank. I need to find a new bank that allows a longer deferment period in graduate school. It also needs to have a deferment period for up to 5 years in undergrad, since thats how long I plan on taking (whats funny is that the CitiAssist loan allows deferment for up to 10 years as an undergrad - go figure). Does anybody have any suggestions? Maybe I'm just bad at navigating bank websites but finding information on loan deferment periods seems to be very difficult.

Also, what can I do about the CitiAssist loan? I know that its a looong way off before I will have to worry about it, I just don't want to end up in a situation where I am paying back loans while going to school.

HalberdBlue on

• DaenrisDaenris Registered User regular
    edited May 2008
    I'm not 100% positive, but I believe SallieMae loans allow deferment for as long as you're in school at least half-time. You may want to poke around the website a bit to see (or just call them up tomorrow and ask). That's one option, and it's where nearly all my loans are from so really the only one I'm personally familiar with.